Classic Car Snappers – Flickr Is About To Delete Your Photos

Flickr Photo Deletion
Flickr is about to delete your photographs pretty soon

Watch out classic car snappers, Flickr is about to delete your photographs pretty soon.

Classic snapping car fans using Flickr as a preferred free storage method, will need to prioritise which photos they would like to keep, or risk losing everything above the new limited 1,000 photos and videos allowance.

Following a major restructure of the hosting service, which involved Yahoo selling the company to SmugMug, an American based sharing platform back in April 2018, Flickr will reduce the current allowance of 1TB (200,000-400,000 photos each), to a much lower limit of 1,000 photos and videos.

Excess images / videos will face complete deletion as from 5th February 2019, beginning with the oldest first.

Porsche 356
Images like these could be deleted if you resist the urge to upgrade to a pro plan soon

A blog post released by Andrew Stadlen, Flickr’s vice-president said:
“The free terabyte largely attracted members who were drawn by the free storage, not by engagement with other lovers of photography.

“This caused a significant tonal shift in our platform, away from the community interaction and exploration of shared interests that makes Flickr the best shared home for photographers in the world.

“Yahoo lost sight of what makes Flickr truly special and responded to a changing landscape in online photo sharing by giving every Flickr user a staggering terabyte of free storage.

“The overwhelming majority of Pros have more than 1,000 photos on Flickr, and more than 97% of Free members have fewer than 1,000. We believe we’ve landed on a fair and generous place to draw the line.”

Sign up to our newsletter for updates!

Created by Ludicorp in 2004, Flickr reports that only around 3% of current free users exceed their 1,000 photos limit, which detracts from the reason the ‘sharing’ and storage service was originally designed for.

Following the February image cull, many bloggers, websites and newsletters could find white spaces wherever the original Flickr images were initially placed.

Pro Options

Pro options include signing up to Flickrpro Annual Plan, which offers unlimited storage, ad-free, with advanced statistics, worry-free backup via the desktop Auto-Uploadr, and exclusive discounts from Adobe, Blurb, SmugMug, and Priime. The current price, charged annually for this plan is £47.88.

Backing Up Your Photos

  • Log into your personal Flickr account
  • Click ‘Albums’ in the navigation bar
  • Hover your cursor over the desired album
  • Hit the download icon and create the Zip folder as directed by Flickr

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*