Silverstone Classic Celebrates Rip-Roaring Success & Record Numbers

Silverstone Classic
Legend returns - It was nearly half a century ago that the legendary Sir Jackie Stewart was victorious at superfast Silverstone

Silverstone Classic declared another rip-roaring success this weekend celebrating record numbers in the face of some typical British weather.

The 2019 event at the iconic Silverstone circuit saw a record spectator attendance of 109,000 from Friday morning through Sunday evening with a reported significant increase on the previous year.

Busy car club displays and a thrilling 21 retro races added to an action-packed high octane extravaganza elevating the world’s biggest classic car motor racing event to even greater heights.

Nick Wigley, Silverstone Classic CEO:
“The Classic lived up to it’s Rocking and Racing’ billing – the cars were the stars and all the families had brilliant fun.

“The race programme was the most varied yet and the Mini races, in particular, will live long in the memory. In truth, the entire race programme has been extraordinary both in terms of great cars and exceptional driving skills.

“As ever, the racing is just part of the huge extravaganza that is today’s Silverstone Classic. This year’s event attracted an unprecedented crowd and we would like to thank everybody for coming, as well as all of the drivers, marshals, exhibitors, entertainers, performers and everyone else who made the event such a huge success.”

Silverstone Classic

Silverstone Track Action

The final day’s on-track headlines arguably belonged to Steve Hartley in the ex-John Watson McLaren MP4/1 – the car in which ‘Wattie’ famously raced from 17th on the grid to the top step of the podium in the inaugural Detroit Grand Prix back in 1982.

Race 14: HSCC Thundersports Endurance
1. George Hallau (Lola T310) 17 laps (88.43mph)
2. John Burton (Chevron B26) +2.709s
3. Robert Beebee/Joshua Beebee (Lola T70 Mk3B) +58.569s

Race 15: HSCC Historic Formula 2
1. Martin O’Connell (Chevron B40) 10 laps (100.94mph)
2. Miles Griffiths (Ralt RT1) +1.447s
3. Darwin Smith (March 722) +15.962s

Race 16: Historic Touring Car Challenge
1. Michael Lyons (Ford Sierra Cosworth RS500) 19 laps (80.41mph)
2. Craig Davies (Ford Sierra Cosworth RS500) +10.036s
3. Steve Dance (Ford Capri) +10.519s

Race 17: Sir Jackie Stewart Trophy for FIA Masters Historic Formula One
1. Steve Hartley (McLaren MP4/1) 11 laps (114.65mph)
2. Mike Cantillon (Williams FW07C) +6.372s
3. Christophe D’Ansembourg (Williams FW07C) +21.251

Race 18: International Trophy for Classic GT Cars (Pre ’66)
1. Julian Thomas/Calum Lockie (Shelby Daytona Cobra) 20 laps (85.50mph)
2. David Hart/ Oliver Hart (AC Cobra Daytona Coupe) +12.613s
3. Graeme Dodd/James Dodd (Jaguar E-Type) +36.229s

Race 19: Gallet Trophy for Pre ’66 Grand Prix Cars (HGPCA)
1. Sam Wilson (Lotus 18 372) 9 laps (92.75mph)
2. Jon Fairley (Brabham BT11/19) +3.970s
3. Will Nuthall (Cooper T53) +6.315s

Race 20: Aston Martin Trophy for Masters Endurance Legends
1. Mike Cantillon/Jonathan Kennard (Pescarolo LMP1) 21 laps (113.34mph)
2. Steve Tandy (Lola B12/60) +1.663s
3. David Porter (Peugeot 90X) +43.021s

Race 21: Mini Celebration Trophy Presented By Adrian Flux
1. Adam Morgan (Morris Mini Cooper S) 8 laps (81.96mph)
2. Ian Curley (Austin Mini Cooper S) +5.007s
3. Michael Caine (Austin Mini Cooper S) +5.447s

ITV4 and YouTube

For those that were unable to attend – or for those in attendance who would like to relive the whole experience – you can catch all the action on ITV4 and YouTube.

ITV4 will broadcast highlights immediately after live coverage of the BTCC from Thruxton on 18 August and will be presented by Louise Goodman and Tiff Needell, whilst all 21-races will be available on YouTube during the coming days.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.